Comics, Art, and Fun!
Welcome to WCN Sign in | Join | Help
in
Home Top WebComics Blogs Forums Photos Links Downloads

Planned birth

Last post 11-13-2005, 3:16 PM by Newborn. 38 replies.
Page 3 of 3 (39 items)   < Previous 1 2 3
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  3/16/2004 7:43:00 PM 546492 in reply to 501617

RE: Planned birth

Apology accepted.   Anyway I think there are the factors to decide if it's cruelity.

1.Is it in any kind of pain because of it

2.Is it interferring with any of it's natrual processes

3.Will it later die because of the alterations

other than that I can't complain...

•  3/17/2004 2:51:00 PM 544983 in reply to 501617

• Vick330 is not online. Last active: 2006-12-20, 12:19 PM Vick330
    • Top 100 Contributor
      Male
    • Joined on 02-03-2004
    • somewhere between the realms of Reality &amp; Fantasy
    • Posts 551

As with many things, genetic manipulation is not wrong in itself, but rhater in how it is applied. I work in a lab, and I am all for genetic research that has the potential to cure, or at least give hope, to people with chronic, debilitating conditions. That goat btw doesn't produce spiderwebs in place of milk, but it's milk contains a protein that enters the making of spiderwebs.

Where things get complicated is when it comes to its application to humans. Right now some are concerned that insurance companies will require DNA testing, this in order to better assess their risks in insuring an individual. That would be a clear violation of basic human rights.

Now lets take the case of a pregnant mother. She learns that her child will be born with a defect, and that this can be corrected by genetic technology. I don't think it would be wrong to give this child a chance to a normal life, but what are other conditions that would qualify as 'defects'?